Skip to main navigation.

Meet Mr. Football for 2020

Kasey Carnley of Broad River Electric Cooperative and Bob Paulling of Mid-Carolina Electric Cooperative present this year's award to Tyrion Ingram-Dawkins.

Gaffney High School defender Tyrion Ingram-Dawkins was named South Carolina’s Mr. Football during halftime of the Class 3A title game between Daniel and Camden. Selected from among five distinguished finalists, Ingram-Dawkins was recognized for his hard work both on and off the football field.

Presenting the Mr. Football trophy to Ingram-Dawkins was Bob Paulling, CEO of Mid-Carolina Electric Cooperative, and Kasey Carnley, Communications Coordinator at Broad River Electric Cooperative, which serves areas near Ingram-Dawkins's high school.

“The Mr. Football award really opens up opportunities,” said Paulling after presenting the award. “There are recruiters from all over the country. This award solidifies Tyrion as the best football player in the state.” 

Ingram-Dawkins is committed to the University of Georgia and is the No. 1 ranked prospect in South Carolina.

Other finalists for the award were Gregory Johnson of Northwestern, Willis Lane of Camden, Robbie Ouzts of Rock Hill and Ahmad Green of May River.

The S.C. Athletic Coaches Association established the Mr. Football award in 1995. Below is a complete list of past recipients.

Photos and video of today’s presentation are available here:


South Carolina Mr. Football Recipients

Year, Name, Position, School, College

1995 — Jermale Kelley, WR, Berea, South Carolina

1996 — Kyle Young, OL, Daniel, Clemson

1997 — Chris Hope, DB, Rock Hill, Florida State

1998 — Derek Watson, RB, Palmetto, South Carolina

1999 — Mark Logan, QB, Greenwood, Georgia Tech

2000 — Roscoe Crosby, WR, Union, Clemson

2001 — Moe Thompson, DE, Stratford, South Carolina

2002 — Eric McCollom, QB, Camden, Iowa

2003 — Trey Elder, QB, Byrnes, Appalachian State

2004 — J.D. Melton, QB, Myrtle Beach, Navy

2005 — Prince Miller, DB, Byrnes, Georgia

2006 — Malcolm Long, QB, Gaffney, South Carolina State

2007 — Richard Mounce, QB, Blythewood, Charleston Southern

2008 — Stephon Gilmore, CB, South Pointe, South Carolina

2009 — Marcus Lattimore, RB, Byrnes, South Carolina

2010 — Jadeveon Clowney, DE, South Pointe, South Carolina

2011 —Shaq Roland, WR, Lexington, South Carolina

2012 —Tramel Terry, WR, Goose Creek, Georgia

2013 —Jacob Park, QB, Stratford, Georgia

2014 — Matthew Colburn, RB, Dutch Fork, Wake Forest

2015 — Tavien Feaster, RB, Spartanburg, Clemson

2016 — Gage Moloney, QB, Northwestern, James Madison

2017 — Dakereon Joyner, QB, Fort Dorchester, South Carolina

2018 — Zacch Pickens, DE, T.L. Hanna, South Carolina

2019 — Luke Doty, QB, Myrtle Beach, South Carolina

2020 — Tyrion Ingram-Dawkins, DT, Gaffney, Georgia

Editors note: South Carolina’s electric cooperatives are the primary sponsors of the Mr. Football award. The South Carolina Athletics Coaches Association organizes the event and is responsible for the selection of South Carolina’s Mr. Football award.

Powered by Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Logo